Booksmart Booklist: Pride

Booksmart Booklist: Pride

june2

It is Pride month friends!  When I worked in the public library, I loved to put up book displays in June for Pride.  Lucky for me, there are more and more great books for children and teens that want to read about LGBTQ characters.  Here are some that I like:

aristotle.jpg

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz has won a lot of well deserved hardware.  The Pura Belpre Award for best book featuring Latino characters, the Stonewall book award for books with LGBTQ characters and it was a Printz Honor book that same year (best books for Teens).  Clearly librarians loved this book (all of these prizes are given by the American Library Association).   It is a beautiful story about an unlikely friendship that grows into love.  It made me cry, but in a good way.  Bonus!  The audiobook features the author and Lin-Manuel Miranda, my hero.

george

George was a hot book this year, it was actually a book request from one of my middle school students that heard about it on NPR on the way to school.  It is for lower grades, but I have given it to a wide range of ages.  When people see George, they see a boy but George knows that she is a girl.  Her biggest wish is to play Charlotte in Charlotte’s web but that part is only for girls.  George is young, in 4th or 5th grade so the book is appropriate for younger readers.  I also give it to my middle school readers because it touches on transgender issues with a very light hand.  Which is good because I brought up Kate Bornstein once during a 7th grade class and some of the kids were like, “wait….what?!?!?” Sometimes I forget to ease into things! Ahh, the role of a school librarian is like being a human “The more you know” ad!

know

Last but not least:

june3

This day in June is a GREAT picture book for kids.  I read it during a lesson I have about parades (there are a lot of parade books out there) since I don’t have the kids in the library in June for actual Pride. The illustrations are beautiful and very inclusive.

For more book ideas for all ages, check out the booklists at the New York Public Library some of my favorites are:

LGBTQ books for our youngest readers.

LGBTQ books for teens!   (My pick: Hold me Closer which features my favorite character in Will Grayson, Will Grayson)

Books about Transgender Issues for Teens (complied and beautifully written by Anne Rouyer, Queen of YA Lit!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

