WKND: Des Moines

WKND: Des Moines

 

Here are some highlights from my fun filled trip to Des Moines, Iowa!

The Library!

IMG_0515

The library, of course!!  I try to see the main library of every new city that I visit, this is my artsy shot of the central library in downtown Des Moines.  So many things that I love about this place.  It was new (built in 2006) and obviously had a modern library mindset when designing the space.  New books were attractively displayed right by the checkout stations for a quick visit.  Meaning, how do people use the library today?  The main collections were organized in an intuitive way.  The kid space was fabulous.  Displays were lowered to a child’s level and there were other activities for children to explore during their visit (legos, audiobooks, toys for babies).  I also really loved how they set up their picture books: IMG_0519

The programming at the library was great too! I took a lot of flyers for ideas later.  Sarah, Maya and I went to a storytime so that I could take notes for my upcoming preschool storytime at school! We had a blast!

IMG_0521

Our Wanderings!

After breakfast we spent the mornings wandering around Des Moines.  The first day we went to the Central Library and the neighboring Sculpture Park.  The next day we stopped by the weekly downtown farmer’s market (a great spot to people watch and eat delicious cookies) and shopping in the East Village district which I highly recommend if you are looking for a great neighborhood to explore!

Coffee!

IMG_0549

So many great coffee places in Des Moines.  I liked the brand new coffee shop, Horizon Line, which gave me nice Brooklyn vibes.  The menu was limited but the iced coffee was on point.

I also loved Ritual Cafe, which reminded me of college and had been blessed by Buffalo, NY goddess, Wendie Malick.

Crafts!

IMG_0560

Whenever Sarah and I get together, we craft.  I started working on my loom and Sarah worked on her Cacti while we watched Pretty Little Liars on Netflix.

Art Terrarium!

IMG_0555I want to plug my favorite shop of the trip, Art Terrarium.  It is a combination plant shop and art gallery and I wanted to buy everything in it.  It got me thinking about what kind of store I would have if I took two things that I love and combined them.  The answer I came up with was Magazines and Ice Cream!

Togetherness!

IMG_0538

Oh man, I love these guys so much that I got teary towards the end of the trip!  I can’t wait to visit Des Moines again!

 

 

Leave a Reply

